AVO Logo
Site Map | FAQ |
Alaska Volcano Observatory
About Alaska's Volcanoes | Map & Alphabetical List | Interactive Map | Latitude/Longitude List | Eruption Search | Volcano Search 
You are here: Home > Volcano Information

Cleveland reported activity

CLEVELAND LINKS

SAMPLES

Webicorders

Webcams
EVENT SPECIFIC INFORMATION

Start:October 2, 2009 Observed
Stop:December 12, 2009 Observed

Tephra plume: BibCard BibCard
Eruption Type:Explosive
ColHeight: 6100 m BibCard
Duration: 2 very short ash emissions: Oct 2 and Dec 12 BibCard
Other""

Description: From McGimsey and others (2014): "On October 2, 2009, another small eruption occurred at Cleveland. Satellite images from 08:11 and 08:25 UTC (00:11 and 00:25 am AKDT) on October 3, 2009, showed a detached ash cloud moving to the northeast away from the volcano. The HYSPLIT particle trajectory model calculated a 6-km-high (20,000 ft) plume originating at about 07:15-07:30 UTC on October 3 (11:15-11:30 pm AKDT). A strong ash signal was indicated from analysis of the satellite data. The cloud was 40 km long (25 mi), 12 km wide (7.5 mi), and 122 km (76 mi) from the volcano at 08:25 UTC (October 3). By 10:00 UTC (02:00 am AKDT on October 3), the cloud was 231 km (144 mi) from the volcano. In response to this activity, AVO upgraded the Aviation Color Code/Volcano Alert Level to ORANGE/WARNING at 02:29 am AKDT (10:29 UTC) on the morning of October 3, 2009.

"Activity decreased as abruptly as it had started, and on the afternoon of October 5, 2009, the Color Code/Alert Level was downgraded to YELLOW/WATCH. Clear satellite views, particularly on October 15 and 19, showed no further signs of activity, and on October 19, 2009, status of the volcano was downgraded to UNASSIGNED. Cleveland remained quiet almost until the end of 2009. A small, low-level ash plume was emitted on December 12, 2009, but there were no changes to the status for the remainder of 2009."

Contact AVO Privacy Accessibility Information Quality FOIA
URL: www.avo.alaska.edu/volcanoes/activity.php
Page modified: June 11, 2014 13:55
Contact Information: AVO Web Team

twitter @alaska_avo
facebook alaska.avo
email Receive volcano updates by email: USGS VNS