AVO Logo
Site Map | FAQ |
Alaska Volcano Observatory
Summary | Color Code Definitions | Webcams | Webicorders | RSAM | Activity Notifications | Notification Search | Cleveland | Semisopochnoi | Shishaldin | Veniaminof 
You are here: Home > Current Volcanic Activity > Shishaldin > NOAA Trajectory Model

  • This trajectory graphic is the output of a mathematical model showing wind direction and speed at different altitudes above sea level (HYSPLIT, NOAA). It does not contain information about ash emissions from the volcano.
  • Colored lines show the direction an ash cloud emanating from a point source (the volcano) would travel at different altitudes in feet above ground level. A given eruption cloud may not reach all altitudes shown.
  • Symbols are spaced one hour apart and reflect the forecast speed of the ash cloud.
  • This model is updated every 6 hours.
  • UTC to AKDT conversion (Alaska Daylight Time):
    0000 UTC = 4:00 PM AKDT on the previous day as UTC
    0600 UTC = 10:00 PM AKDT on the previous day as UTC
    1200 UTC = 4:00 AM AKDT on the same day as UTC
    1800 UTC= 10:00 AM AKDT on the same day as UTC

  • For more information about HYSPLIT see: https://www.ready.noaa.gov/READY_traj_alaska.php


THESE PRODUCTS MAY NOT BE CURRENT.
During an actual eruption, see National Weather Service forecasts of airborne ash hazard to aircraft (SIGMETS: https://weather.gov/aawu/ and Volcanic Ash Advisories: https://weather.gov/vaac) as well as forecasts of ash fall: https://weather.gov/afc.
URL: www.avo.alaska.edu/activity/ash3d/hysplit.php
Page modified: April 22, 2019 11:10
Contact Information: AVO Web Team

twitter @alaska_avo
facebook alaska.avo
email Receive volcano updates by email: USGS VNS

This website is supported by the U.S. Geological Survey under Cooperative Agreement Grant G19AC00060 and G19AC00171.

Mention of trade names or commercial products does not constitute their endorsement by the U.S. Geological Survey.