Print this report

ALASKA VOLCANO OBSERVATORY STATUS REPORT
U.S. Geological Survey
Tuesday, May 16, 2017, 8:16 PM AKDT (Wednesday, May 17, 2017, 04:16 UTC)


CLEVELAND VOLCANO (VNUM #311240)
52°49'20" N 169°56'42" W, Summit Elevation 5676 ft (1730 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: WATCH
Current Aviation Color Code: ORANGE

A small explosion occurred today at 7:17 PM AKDT (03:17 UTC 05/17/2017) and was detected by seismic and infrasound (air pressure) sensors. Satellite views since the event show no evidence of an ash plume above the weather cloud tops at 10,000 ft asl, and a pilot report indicated no plume.

OTHER ALASKA VOLCANOES

Information on all Alaska volcanoes is available at : http://www.avo.alaska.edu.

AVO scientists conduct daily checks of earthquake activity at all seismically-monitored volcanoes, examine web camera and satellite images for evidence of airborne ash and elevated surface temperatures, and consult other monitoring data as needed.

For definitions of Aviation Color Codes and Volcano Alert Levels, see: http://www.avo.alaska.edu/color_codes.php

SUBSCRIBE TO VOLCANO ALERT MESSAGES by email: http://volcanoes.usgs.gov/vns/

FOLLOW AVO ON FACEBOOK: https://facebook.com/alaska.avo

FOLLOW AVO ON TWITTER: https://twitter.com/alaska.avo

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Michelle Coombs, Scientist-in-Charge, USGS
mcoombs@usgs.gov (907) 786-7497

Pavel Izbekov, Acting Coordinating Scientist, UAFGI
pavel@gi.alaska.edu (907) 322-4085

The Alaska Volcano Observatory is a cooperative program of the U.S. Geological Survey, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute, and the Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys.