ALASKA VOLCANO OBSERVATORY DAILY UPDATE
U.S. Geological Survey
Wednesday, January 1, 2014, 11:30 AM AKST (Wednesday, January 1, 2014, 20:30 UTC)


VENIAMINOF VOLCANO (VNUM #312070)
56°11'52" N 159°23'35" W, Summit Elevation 8225 ft (2507 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: ADVISORY
Current Aviation Color Code: YELLOW

Seismicity at Veniaminof remains slightly above background. Nothing observed in mostly cloudy satellite views of the volcano over the past 24 hours. Web camera images of the intracaldera cone obscured by clouds.


CLEVELAND VOLCANO (VNUM #311240)
52°49'20" N 169°56'42" W, Summit Elevation 5676 ft (1730 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: ADVISORY
Current Aviation Color Code: YELLOW

Nothing observed in mostly cloudy satellite views of Cleveland Volcano over the past 24 hours. AVO has recieved no reports of activity from local observers. A brief explosion from Cleveland Volcano was detected at 4:06 UTC Dec. 31 (19:06 AKST, Dec. 30), but since then the volcano has exhibited no detectable signs of unrest.

Brief explosions from the summit vent of Cleveland Volcano may continue without warning. These explosions may produce minor ash clouds that are not expected to extend much beyond the volcano, but could produce local fallout on the flanks of Cleveland Volcano and parts of Chuginadak Island. It is possible that a more energetic explosion could occur that may produce a more significant ash cloud which should be evident in satellite data.


VOLCANO INFORMATION ON THE INTERNET: http://www.avo.alaska.edu
RECORDING ON THE STATUS OF ALASKA'S VOLCANOES (907) 786-7478

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Chris Waythomas, Acting Scientist-in-Charge, USGS
chris@usgs.gov (907) 786-7497

Pavel Izbekov, Acting Coordinating Scientist, UAFGI
pavel@gi.alaska.edu (907) 322-4085

The Alaska Volcano Observatory is a cooperative program of the U.S. Geological Survey, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute, and the Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys.