ALASKA VOLCANO OBSERVATORY STATUS REPORT
U.S. Geological Survey
Monday, July 10, 2017, 9:21 PM AKDT (Tuesday, July 11, 2017, 05:21 UTC)


BOGOSLOF VOLCANO (VNUM #311300)
53°55'38" N 168°2'4" W, Summit Elevation 492 ft (150 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: WATCH
Current Aviation Color Code: ORANGE

Following the 15-minute-long explosive eruption that occurred this afternoon July 10 at 17:06 AKDT (1:06 UTC July 11), seismicity as detected on neighboring islands has been quiet and satellite images have shown no significant emissions from the volcano.

Bogoslof volcano remains at a heightened state of unrest and in an unpredictable condition. Additional explosions producing high-altitude volcanic clouds could occur at any time. Low-level explosive activity that is below our ability to detect in our data sources may be occurring. These low-level explosions could pose a hazard in the immediate vicinity of the volcano.

The Aviation Color Code remains at ORANGE and the Alert Level remains at WATCH.


Status of the ash cloud forecast can be found at the National Weather Service Alaska Aviation Weather Unit website at http://aawu.arh.noaa.gov/

OTHER ALASKA VOLCANOES

Information on all Alaska volcanoes is available at : http://www.avo.alaska.edu.

For definitions of Aviation Color Codes and Volcano Alert Levels, see: http://www.avo.alaska.edu/color_codes.php

SUBSCRIBE TO VOLCANO ALERT MESSAGES by email: http://volcanoes.usgs.gov/vns/

FOLLOW AVO ON FACEBOOK: https://facebook.com/alaska.avo

FOLLOW AVO ON TWITTER: https://twitter.com/alaska.avo

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Chris Waythomas, Acting Scientist-in-Charge, USGS
chris@usgs.gov (907) 786-7497

Jeff Freymueller, Coordinating Scientist, UAFGI
jfreymueller@alaska.edu (907) 322-4085

The Alaska Volcano Observatory is a cooperative program of the U.S. Geological Survey, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute, and the Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys.