ALASKA VOLCANO OBSERVATORY STATUS REPORT
U.S. Geological Survey
Wednesday, November 21, 2018, 9:08 PM AKST (Thursday, November 22, 2018, 06:08 UTC)


VENIAMINOF VOLCANO (VNUM #312070)
56°11'52" N 159°23'35" W, Summit Elevation 8225 ft (2507 m)
Current Volcano Alert Level: WARNING
Current Aviation Color Code: RED

Nearly continuous ash emissions continued for much of today with a plume below 15,000 ft asl extending over 250 miles (400 km) to the southeast until around 14:45 AKST (23:45 UTC). After that, a short eruptive pulse was visible from the Perryville webcam at 15:26 AKST but largely dissipated by 17:26 AKST. No ash emissions were visible in the last daylight webcam images, and satellite images do not indicate continued ash emissions at this time.

Seismic activity in the form of continuous volcanic tremor continues at Veniaminof and ash emissions may resume at any time. Please reference https://www.weather.gov/aawu/sigmets for updated guidance on airborne ash hazards. A National Weather Service volcanic ash advisory for Perryville remains in effect overnight due to overnight prevailing winds if ash emission occurs.





OTHER ALASKA VOLCANOES

Information on all Alaska volcanoes is available at : http://www.avo.alaska.edu.

For definitions of Aviation Color Codes and Volcano Alert Levels, see: http://www.avo.alaska.edu/color_codes.php

SUBSCRIBE TO VOLCANO ALERT MESSAGES by email: http://volcanoes.usgs.gov/vns/

FOLLOW AVO ON FACEBOOK: https://facebook.com/alaska.avo

FOLLOW AVO ON TWITTER: https://twitter.com/alaska_avo

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Michelle Coombs, Scientist-in-Charge, USGS
mcoombs@usgs.gov (907) 786-7497

David Fee, Coordinating Scientist, UAFGI
dfee1@alaska.edu (907) 322-4085

The Alaska Volcano Observatory is a cooperative program of the U.S. Geological Survey, the University of Alaska Fairbanks Geophysical Institute, and the Alaska Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys.